NEARING THE END OF HER TETHER ME THINKS

wpid-img_5179-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

.

Relationships come and go; such is life. When we were reunited this evening I realised that, despite how I had felt for so long, the time for change had come. I confess my faithfulness had strayed as over the past few months I had been enjoying my time with an altogether more lithe beautiful and provocative young thing that had been luring me into riding her whenever I set eyes upon her. It had been quite an experience, often times exhausting but always immensely gratifying, promoting me to pore over websites yearning for even more beautiful and suitable models.

And so it was with a tinge of sadness that we were once again reunited this evening in Bangkok. As I dashed longingly up the stairs I recalled the day we first got together. I met her by Lumphini Park. I wanted to ride her there and then, but I was anxious and wanted to take my time. So unusually I flagged down a tuk-tuk and we rode in silence across the city to my room where we spent the first of many nights together. She was pure and clean, and for many year I did all I could to preserve that purity of youth. But this evening, as I entered the attic room, what awaited me could not have been more of a contrast to that distant memory. Filthy, shockingly filthy, I began stripping her the moment I entered the room and was shocked by what I found. A stiff bottom bracket was soon taken care of with a little light lubrication, greased up and refitted. Fluid seeped from a badly scared fork leg, her freewheel is surprisingly in need of some attention (DT Swiss don’t you know?) But as I packed her into a small bag I realised that after so many years, so many adventures, so many wonderful times together crossing continents, deserts, the world’s mightiest mountain ranges, my faithful old companion is at the end of her frayed tether, the time for a new adventure bicycle is nigh. But before the old girl is put out to pasture we have a couple more adventures to come. The first of which, Vietnam’s Ho Chi Minh Trail, is nigh upon us.

wpid-img_2118-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

WHERE IT ALL BEGAN, PRISTINE AND SHINEY AS A NEW PIN READY TO ROLL OUT OF BANGKOK

wpid-photossaseb2406-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

CROSSING A DESERT, SO FAR AS I RECALL THIS WAS IN CHILIE

wpid-photossaseb1066-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

A DESERT IN BOLIVIA, HALF THE SIZE OF HOLLAND AND MADE OF SALT. WE HAD SEVERAL HAPPY DAYS AND NIGHTS TOGETHER HERE

wpid-img_5189-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

TOGETHER WE CROSSED MANY DESERTS

wpid-mg_0160-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

SOMETIMES I HAD TO CARRY HER

wpid-mg_7097-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

REPAIRING A SPLIT TYRE SOMEWHERE IN THE HIMALAYAS

wpid-004-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

A LONG AND REMOTE RIDE HIGH IN THE ANDES

wpid-mg_9458-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

OUR NIGHTS TOGETHER WERE NOT ALWAYS SPENT IN LUXURY

wpid-img_5110-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

ON THE EQUATOR, EQUADOR

wpid-img_2667-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

WINTER ON TIANAMAN SQUARE

wpid-img_7291-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

SHANXI PROVINCE CHINA. IF YOU HAVE NOT CYCLED ACROSS SHANXI YOU HAVE NOT EXPERIENCE POLLUTION. THE FILTH ON MY FACE IN THIS PIC IS FROM AIR POLLUTION, IT A TOOK MY BICYCLE AND I A WEEK TO CROSS SHANXI

wpid-p1030142-version2-2012-07-3-22-04.jpg

MY BICYCLE AND I IN WORK MODE. CONTEMPLATING LIFE, ON THE ROAD FROM LHASA TO KATHMANDU, TIBET

9 thoughts on “NEARING THE END OF HER TETHER ME THINKS

  1. Well, that’s a familiar story! As soon as they start to get a bit creaky, it’s out with the old and in with the new! Hope you can keep up with the younger model……

    • Already got my eye on something else Angie, a real beauty called Peregrin, but I not sure she will like the rough treatment that life we me sometimes entails, so perhaps as a general consort a less pretty but altogether sturdier wee thing named Ogre may be the one.

  2. I feel sorry for her.
    I can just hope for you that your younger model isn’t one of those where the “new” wears of quickly and which feels worn out after a few long and pounding rides.

    • No, I think it will take a long time fore the shine to wear from the one in my room now, but she is more tender than the old model, hence her waiting in Bangkok whilst old faithful accompanies me to Vietnam.

  3. Reblogged this on CiSmithPhotography and commented:
    Over and over, travel affords meeting people of amazing and aspiring qualities. I want to share two people that are doing such. (people #1) I met this man in the common area of a guest house when I was in dire need of Visa information. His extensive knowledge led to more questions until I discovered that he had been bicycling across boarders for years. His life is inspiring, his photos are breathtaking and even his writing is grabbing. This is David Walker’s Blog

    • Hey, many thanks for the kind words Chris. We must catchup for that beer soon. Need to talk over your excellent plan of a tour of SE Asian breweries.

  4. Pingback: a custom built Salas Vaya « Painted Roads Blog

Leave a Reply

