R.I.P

cci31122010_000001-2011-01-11-10-27.jpg

5 thoughts on “R.I.P

  1. It was such a privilege to have spent some time with you as a family. I wished I knew your dad, but I’ve met his wife and children and I feel abundantly blessed by his legacy living on in you. You all are fabulous people and I am a richer person getting to know you all a bit. I do hope our paths cross again. This final verse of the chosen hymn is so meaningful and fitting, not only singing about God, but also the contentment and balm we can experience in the presence of loving people like you.

    Lord of all gentleness,
    Lord of all calm,
    whose voice is contentment,
    whose presence is balm,
    be there at our sleeping,
    and give us, we pray,
    your peace in our hearts, Lord
    at the end of the day.

    • Thanks for such a fine funeral service Etienne. I will always remember the poignant moment when the sun came out and shone on the coffin.

      • D! You know how often that happens – even in snowy weather?! I did look back at the view too, but knew you all noticed the sun. In my heart I smiled. It always reminds me of these words: ‘Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your RIGHTEOUSNESS SHINE LIKE THE DAWN, THE JUSTICE OF YOUR CAUSE LIKE THE NOONDAY SUN.’ Don’t you think that is so true in Gerald’s life…and passing?
        E 🙂

  2. Dear Walks,
    I missed this!

    I hope you were surrounded with kind, supportive, thoughtful people as I had the good fortune to be when my mother died last November.

    Loss of a parent is a strange thing. It is mostly expected, but never feels timely. After the usual rites are over, grief can strike unexpectedly and for no recognisable reason. Time, as ever does it’s work.

    Thinking of you, anyway,
    x Angie

    • Thanks Angie,

      I thought of you when I flew back to the UK. I very much admired and respected your keeping things to yourself back in November. You did all the right things. I hope that you are feeling chipper now and that you and David are well and happy; knowing you I feel quite sure that you both are.
      I hope to see you before too long.

      Dx

Leave a Reply

