Images of Tibet

l1040318-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

Everest, Cho Oyu, Kanchangunga; Sikim, Nagaland, Burma. A myriad of fascinating adventure passes beneath me as in three hours I sit with the fuzzy warmth of red wine flowing through my veins en-route, by air, from Kathmandu to Bangkok.
After a month of camping out in the Himalayas, and latterly the chaos that is today’s Kathmandu I return to civilisation in the form of Thailand, where everything is possible, available and works smoothly. I have two weeks, or, to be more precise just short of two weeks, before I need to be back in Bangkok to meet my next group for a two week tour of Laos.
Laos is a nice little holiday after Tibet but the interesting statistic is that during the four week Tibet tour we climb a total of 8900 metres, whilst during a two week Laos tour we climb 8260. So on paper Laos looks far more challenging given the time taken. Just goes to show how detrimental cutting out 50% of your usual oxygen supply can be. Talking of which I managed to loose over four kilos during my time in Tibet, and put on a kilo a day back in Kathmandu. Goes to show what pizza wine and beer can do for a chaps calorific needs.
For now I shall sign off and leave you, dear reader, with a few more pics from Tibet.

l1040219-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

l1040259-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

l1040167-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

l1040315-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

l1040308-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

l1040301-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

l1040262-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

l1040183-2010-10-14-11-562.jpg

7 thoughts on “Images of Tibet

  1. Like the new look to the site, and more excellent pics Walks.

    It seems as if I might be heading out to Hong Kong and China for a week with work within the next month.
    Hopefully I can grab a few nice pics.
    What camera are you using these days?

    Enjoy the Wine and Pizza!
    Jonesey.

    • Thanks for the compliments Jonesey.
      Where in China will you be going?
      The camera I am using at the moment is a Leica D-Lux4. It is actually exactly the same, or at lease very very nearly exactly the same, as the Panasonic Lumix LX3 which has now ben replaced by the LX. Should a chap, or a chappess come to that, be looking for a fine compact camera then he, or she, won’t go far wrong with this. Alas it does have some drawbacks and limitations and every time I go away without my Canon 400D-SLR I end up wishing I had it with me, but when I have it with me I rue the bulk of the thing. Enter the Micro 4/3 system cameras from Panasonic and Olympus. I have yet to play with one but I am very seriously considering getting one once Panasonic release the GF2 early next year. A half size DSLR sensor, optional digital view finder and a quite wonderful 20mm f1.7 lens all in a rather compact package.
      I bet you wish you’d never asked now.

  2. I’m flying into Hong Kong and then going to a place called Szenzhen I believe.
    Nothing exciting, an electronics factory, but I hope to be able to see some of Hong Kong at least at the weekend.

    Thanks for the advice on the camera, all very interesting. I can see the dilema between taking the SLR vs the more compact digital.

    General question for you if I may … is it wise to take just a sterling travellers card so I can grab local currency from a cashpoint, or would you recommend a US Dollar one (I’ve heard different stories!)

    CHEERS!

  3. Ahh, Shenzhen Shi, Guangdong province. “tis a Special Economic Zone, the first one in China I believe. Just north of Hong Kong. Will be interesting for you. Hong Kong is more like Bangkok that it is like Beijing I always think so it is nice that you will going into China as well. Hong Kong is all rather British in its layout, very orderly as well compared to mainland China. Shame you can’t get to Shanghai or Beijing.
    So far as money is concerned your Visa debit or credit card is fine. If you bank with Barclays they will put it on stop at the first possible opportunity if you don’t let them know when you are going, also if you have the cheek to try to withdraw more than £300 at one time, can’t be having that can we? Anyone would think it was your own money. But, no problem, no need for special cards or cheques or anything, just use an ATM as you would at home. I always carry dollars for emergencies, but the only time I recall actually having to change US$ was years ago in some far flung town in China. People talk a lot of old nonsense, take no notice, ATMs abound and are the way to go. Don’t forget different currency in HK and mainland China.

Leave a Reply

