Smile

I saw a smile today. It was a smile like no smile I have ever seen before. It was a smile bursting with joy. I felt sure that all of the worlds bliss was concentrated in that one moment of space and time. It was a concentration of love and devotion. The smile was that of a young mother to her new born child. She was a simple peasant girl in a poor village high up on a mountain ridge in Laos. That smile affected me tremendously. That amongst poverty I should see the personification of euphoria. I left the village, stopped, and sat in the sun feeling happy, very happy. Happy for the girl, for her child, for me, that I had shared that moment.

One thought on “Smile

Leave a Reply

