Buddhist Lands

It would seem that I am back in buddhist Thailand. Yipee for the short skirts and shorts and beautiful hair on display. There are now more watts (buddhist temples) and less mosques. I like buddhist countries, I like buddhism, I like the teachings of the buddha. He was a wise chap you know? Absolute genius by all accounts. For example he talked about molecule structure 2600 years ago. He understood long before Newton that nothing could be created or destroyed, merely changed from one form to another. Apparently Einstein once said that the time was coming for science and religion to merge, and that the religion for that is buddhism. Of course the Buddha never mentioned anything about how short the shorts or how tight the shirts of beautiful girls should be, but then again he never said ‘you must do this’ or ‘you must not do that’. He simply said ‘look here, there is a problem with life, I know what it is, and I know how to deal with it. I know this because I have found the cause of suffering and I have overcome it’. He went on to explain how it is jolly good to have overcome suffering and to live a joyful life, and then he said ‘should you also wish to free yourself from sorrow and suffering I can help, I can show you the way. But please do not just follow me blindly, please first listen to my ideas and consider them thoroughly. If you think that what I say makes sense, if you think that I can help you, then please follow me. It is not an easy path and it will take a long time, but I would like to help’.
And you see that is it, he didn’t even talk about god or creation. He was asked about creation and he said ‘you have enough to learn to last you more than this lifetime, don’t you go muddling your silly head with things that don’t concern you’.
He simply said ‘if you follow me I will help, if you fancy that’. Actually these may not have been his exact words, I have taken the liberty of paraphrasing, but you get the point. He taught forgiveness and kindness and understanding, but he took the trouble to explain why sometimes people are behaving in a way we perceive as bad.
Well, I like the Buddha and his teachings, I like buddhist countries, and what I like most of all is that buddhists serve beer.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Buddhist Monks Collecting Alms


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Leave a Reply

