Closer to God?

My work has come to an end for now. Nearly two months of high altitude cycling through the Himalayan mountains has been sublime. Being in the Himalayas is for me an almost spiritual experience. I appreciate that this makes me sound like a new age hippy, but it is how it is. From time to time I become overwhelmed with emotion for no reason other than being in this immense grandeur. In the Himalayas there is no missing the might of where you are, the scale is always pounding on your senses. As you cross a mountain pass in excess of five thousand metres there is no doubt as to what you are doing. Your legs are struggling to power you up what ordinarily would be a gentle incline, your lungs are opening so wide your chest feel as though it will burst open and yet you struggle to breath. If you are not careful with control your breath becomes ragged so you make an effort to control your resperation. The wind blows up, the snow begins to fall, the temperature drops, you are in India in mid-summer and yet it is bellow zero; the mountains are playing with you. Then the snow stops, the sky begins to clear, the sun comes out, its rays hitting your back send a shiver through you and then the warmth begins to seep through your body and soul. The clouds are parting and behind the barren rocks of this high altitude desert snow peaks appear, huge giants towering thousands of metres above. As my body warms by heart begins to swell with a feeling of immense well-being, a feeling of joy, a bliss that I am where I am. Emotion overwhelms me, this is what I feel in the mountains. Closer to God? I do not know, but I do know what people feel when they utter this phrase
l1010264.jpg

4 thoughts on “Closer to God?

  1. David, I love what you wrote here and the other photos of Everest too. Great photography all in all! Love the photos of people too and the stills!

    “The clouds are parting and behind the barren rocks of this high altitude desert snow peaks appear, huge giants towering thousands of metres above. As my body warms by heart begins to swell with a feeling of immense well-being, a feeling of joy, a bliss that I am where I am. Emotion overwhelms me, this is what I feel in the mountains. Closer to God? I do not know, but I do know what people feel when they utter this phrase”

    Keep it up!
    Etienne

    • Thanks Etienne; I am pleased that you like it. As a man of God yourself I am sure that you will understand my sentiment here. High mountains are a spiritual place.

      • Hi D Back again – still had a tab of your site open on my PC. Thought you may like what is one of my favourite readings – I think it fits in with what you’ve written and also the song your brother composed for your 40th. Had special meaning to me since I’ve been away from SA on long-ingering journeys since 1993 – in my case it seems I get stuck or attached to those I meet.

        Enjoy
        E 🙂

        Psalm 121
        Assurance of God’s Protection
        A Song of Ascents.

        I look to the mountains;
        where will my help come from?
        My help will come from the Lord,
        who made heaven and earth.

        He will not let you fall;
        your protector is always awake.
        (Your protector never dozes or sleeps).

        The Lord will guard you;
        he is by your side to protect you.
        The sun will not hurt you during the day,
        nor the moon during the night.

        The Lord will protect you from all danger;
        he will keep you safe.
        He will protect you
        as you come and go
        now and forever.

      • I meant ‘long-lingering’ journeys – the ‘l’ dropped out of ‘lingering’- but you probably knew what I meant.

Leave a Reply

